· Home
· About_Us
· Anglican News
· Announcements
· Archives
· Bishop's Office
· Calendar of Events
· Clothing Depot
· Council Of The North
· Deacons Corner
· Downloads
· Gallery
· Governance
· Job Listings
· KeeWee
· Mission Statement
· News Stories
· Office & Depot Hours
· Parish Resources
· Parishes
· Provincial News
· Public Documents
· Seminars & Conferences
· Special KeeWees
· Synod
· The Cathedral

Brief History of the Diocese

The Diocese of Keewatin came into being with the ordination of the Rt. Rev. Joseph Lofthouse as it's first bishop on August 17th, 1902. Prior to that time the territory that it now occupies was part of both the Diocese of Moosonee and the Diocese of Rupert's Land.  At the time of Bishop Lofthouse's ordination the diocese stretched all the way from the border with the USA in the south to the far reaches of the Arctic in the north. When the Diocese of the Arctic was formed in 1930 the Diocese of Keewatin gave up it's territory north of Churchill.

The church has been present in the far northern parts of the diocese for longer than the history of the diocese. It was because of Bishop Lofthouse's fine work as a missionary along the western and southern coasts of the Hudson's Bay and down into the lowlands of the bay area that he was appointed to be the first bishop of the new diocese.

Two-thirds of the diocese is in First Nation parishes. There are five languages spoken in the diocese: Cree, Oji-Cree, English, Ojibway, and Dene. Many of the clergy and lay people in the diocese speak at least two languages regularly.

There have been nine bishops of the diocese to present - see list below.

Bishops of the Diocese

1902-1921 Bishop Joseph Lofthouse         
1921-1938 Bishop Alfred D. Dewdney  
1938-1953 Bishop Joseph Lofthouse      
1954-1968 Bishop Harry E. Hives          
1969-1974 Bishop Hugh Stiff               
1974-1991 Bishop H. James Allan
1991-1996 Bishop Thomas W.R. Collings
1993-1996 Bishop Gordon Beardy (Suffragan or Assistant Bishop)
1996-2001 Bishop Gordon Beardy
2001-Present Archbishop David Ashdown

Northern Ontario Region
Northern Manitoba Region
Southern Region
Calendar 1
<< August 2013 >>


Quick Links
Diocese of Keewatin
915 Ottawa St. P.O. Box 567 Keewatin, ON P0X 1C0
Ph: 807-547-3353 Fax: 807-547-3356
Email: dioceseofkeewatin@shaw.ca

Your Privacy Admin